Review: The Hobbit

Last week we decided to give the Hobbit a try. Finally! I heard mixed things about the film, so it was about time I got to see it myself.

May contain spoilers!

The Hobbit, The Story

The story is simple. In Middle Earth lives a hobbit, Bilbo Baggins. He is dragged into a journey to help the dwarves get their lost Kingdom back that is taken over by a dragon Smaug. The group consists out of 13 dwarves, a hobbit and Gandalf the wizard. On their way they meet elves, trolls, orcs and more.

Their goal lies to the East of Middle-Earth, and the wastelands of the lonely mountain. But first they have to escape from the goblin tunnels where Bilbo’s life will change forever. He finds a ring…

Simply put, this is the story before the Lord of the Rings.

dwarf

What I Liked & Didn’t Like

I love fantasy movies, and this one wasn’t so bad.

I loved the fact that I saw some nice faces in the cast (Aiden Turner from Being Human: YUM!). Mind you, the young Dwarf king Thorin is pretty good-looking too. The beginning was good, the story is good, but at the end of the movie you will be disappointed. They haven’t even reached the mountain yet, and you keep asking yourself during the movie when they will finally reach that damn mountain. But I have to admit, Bilbo will drag you into the movie. The movie is 169 minutes long, but I never had this “When does it end”-feeling. But at the end of the movie you will feel like the movie has brought you no-where, and so you have to wait for the other 2 sequels…

Agent Smi- .. I mean. Elrond.

Agent Smi- .. I mean. Elrond.

Why did Gandalf want Bilbo to join their journey? It’s never explained. It’s a small hobbit in a group of mighty dwarf warriors, and it feels like he doesn’t belong there. The movie scenes and graphics are beautiful! Rivendell, where the elves live is absolutely stunning and it urges you to see it from a closer view. Hobbiton is a cute little town, but really stunning!

The introduction of the movie may be too long. But that’s personal. There were also scenes that weren’t in the book and the pace is slow. Martin Freeman as Bilbo Baggins was a really good choice. I already loved him in Sherlock, but I loved him in the Hobbit just as much.

mountain

Would I See It Again?

No. It’s not an amazing movie, but also not really bad either. I prefer the Lord of the Rings movie so far over the Hobbit.

My rate: 7/10
IMDB rate: 8.2/10 (imdb)

hobbit

Have you seen the Hobbit?

2 thoughts on “Review: The Hobbit

  1. I think you just put your finger on the reason why this movie gets such a bad review: it takes you nowhere. They don’t reach any goal at all. You know where they want to go, it’s said numerous times, but they never reach that goal. But hey, the same applied to the first Lord of the Rings. It’s only the first part of the story.

    I also wondered why Bilbo was chosen, why it wasn’t said. I’m thinking perhaps it’s said later in the books, so it will only be said in the second part, I don’t know.

    As to the pace, I am not sure. Many people reported they found the pace very slow. That wasn’t my impression, I thought there was more action in the Unexpected Journey than in any of the LotR movies. I thought there was very little story. I suppose most of it will be in the next movies.

    I’ve not read any of the books by Tolkien, so I cannot compare these movies with the books. However, I was told by a few that this one was even more faithful to the book then LotR was.

    Really, I loved this movie. The 8.2 IMDB rating is just fine to me. I went with my 10-yo son, and there was never a moment when it seemed he was getting bored, he really enjoyed it. We will watch the LotR movies together eventually, he never saw them (he was just a baby when these movies went out, and until recently he was too young to watch these) — I own the Blue-Ray full length special director’s cut edition… or something like that lol.

    Unlike you, I *will* watch the Unexpected Journey again. I want to see it shortly before the second one is out.

Leave a Reply

