DIY: Envelopes

Monday morning, and I had nothing to do. I decided to get busy with my mail project. I did some preparations for the next time I have to write back, but I found out that the enveloped I have are boring. I thought it would be a nice idea to make envelopes myself. Why not make a DIY-post out of it?

Making Envelopes

What you need:

  • Scissors.
  • Magazines with pretty images.
  • Glue.
  • Scottish Tape
  • A boring envelope.
  • Pencil.

Step 1
Take the boring envelope, and carefully open the entire envelope.

envelope1

envelope2

Step 2
Tear out some pages from a magazine like Flow, Happinezz or a fashion magazine. And lay the opened up envelope on that page and trace it with a pencil. After you are done you cut out the sample.

Tip: Make sure you trace the envelope on the part that’s going to be the inside of the envelope. Or else you will have ugly pen stripes on your envelope.

DSC_0701_zps840a828f

Step 3
fold the right flap to the left, and the left flap to the right. The v-shape at the bottom, you fold up. The side-flaps you glue to the v-shaped part. And voila, you have an envelope! If the glue isn’t working good enough, you can always use Scottish tape on the sides.

DSC_0702_zps99ecf451

DSC_0703_zps315dcfa9

Good luck!

16 thoughts on “DIY: Envelopes

  1. This is a great idea! So pretty, too! Wouldn’t it be fun to send our bills in those beautiful envelopes? I imagine the person opening the envelope–such a tedious job–and really enjoying the job for that moment!

  2. That was actually a good idea. I should have thought of that when I was abusing Canada Post years ago, before the Internet era. The only times I ever send a letter now, it always have to be the large white cardboard envelop the post office provides, as these are mandatory for their priority service.

Leave a Reply

