Carving Out A Pumpkin

It’s almost Halloween! And when I think of Halloween, I think about pumpkins! Here in Holland we –sadly– don’t celebrate Halloween that big as they do in America and other countries. But that didn’t stop me from carving out a pumpkin. I bought mine somewhere in the beginning of October, and last Friday I couldn’t wait anymore. So I took the pumpkin outside.

What You Need

  • Put on some old clothes (you might get dirty)
  • Newspaper (makes it easier to clean up the mess)
  • Knifes (in various sizes)
  • A spoon
  • A pen

Let’s get started

Actually, it’s very simple but it takes a bit of time and getting dirty!

  1. Cut a whole in the top with the knife, but don’t put the knife in straight, but lean the knife a bit to the side. This way the top that you cut out fits back on it, and if it crimps, it won’t fall into the pumpkin easily.
  2. Take out all the seeds and all the goo.
  3. Then start scraping. At least, that’s what I did. Until the inside of the pumpkin was even and that all the goo and anything is gone.
  4. Use the pencil to draw out the face
  5. Start cutting the face out. I suggest you cut outside the lines.
  6. I also used a tissue to take out some excess goo that was stuck to the inside of the pumpkin.
  7. When you’re done, put in a candle and voila!
One thought on “Carving Out A Pumpkin

  1. oh, no random cats this time šŸ˜›

    That was a nice explanation. Except you should cut a “hole” rather than a “whole” šŸ™‚

    Can you believe I’ve never done that? That is, carve out a pumpkin. But I could just put my black cat on the balcony, that should do it lol

Leave a Reply

